Read Website 10:47 AM   
home >> License Categories

License Categories

Radio Broadcasting License

This license type is categorized. There is the (FM) frequency modulation license, which is for all comers including federal, state, local government, communities and private operators.

MW (Medium Wave) is also referred to as AM (Amplitude Modulation). It has potential for a larger coverage area than FM.
SW- (short wave) is strictly for federal government and is used for external broadcast, which can go beyond national boundaries. It therefore has international implications.

 In all license cases, coverage area is determined by the Commission and stated in each licensees license conditions.

TV Broadcasting Licensing

With the promulgation of Decree 24 by the then Federal Military Government in May 1977 the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) was born. The decree which took effect retrospectively from April 1976 brought all the ten existing television stations under the control of the Federal Government of Nigeria. These included Western Nigerian Television (WNTV) established in 1959 which later became NTA Ibadan, Eastern Nigerian Television (ENTV) 1960 later to be known as NTA Enugu and Radio Kaduna Television (RKTV) in 1962 which later split to become NTA Kaduna and FRCN Kaduna. These were established by their various regional governments.

Television stations were later established in the remaining state capitals where none existed.

By the promulgation of Decree 24, the Authority became the only body empowered to undertake television broadcasting in Nigeria, therefore all the ten existing state television stations then, were incorporated into NTA.

It is pertinent to note that, the exclusive rights to television broadcasting enjoyed by the Authority when it was inaugurated in May 1977 by the Federal Military Government, was removed by the 1979 Constitution, which gave rights of ownership to state governments, organizations and individuals that the President may authorize to operate television stations. This provision in the Constitution led to the Establishment of the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) in 1992 and resulted subsequently in the issuance of radio, television and cable broadcast licenses to private operators for the first time in the history of broadcasting in Nigeria on 10th June, 1993.

The Commission assigns channels for licences in VHF and UHF depending on licence conditions. Licensee may be allowed to operate a low power transmitter or a high power transmitter. However in all cases, as in radio, coverage area is predetermined by the Commission, based on applicant’s entries in the application form and availability of channels. 

Satellite Broadcasting License

Satellite Broadcasting License is sub-divided for licensing purposes into three categories:

  1. Direct to Home (DTH) Signal Re-transmission license is awarded for re-distribution of broadcast signals using the satellite.
  2. Satellite Broadcast Signal Distribution license is awarded for service of distribution of signals purely to few key users.
  3. Direct Satellite Broadcast license is awarded for services of transmitting via satellite.